MBLB Sponsors New Orleans Martinet Legal Society & Foundation Scholarship Gala

MBLB attorneys at Martinet Society GalaMouledoux Bland Legrand & Brackett is proud to have been a sponsor of this year’s Greater New Orleans Martinet Legal Society & Foundation Annual Jazz Brunch & Scholarship Gala. Entitled “The Future of the Black Bar: Celebrating 65 Years of Leadership, Excellence & Service,” the Gala was held on September 24, 2022, at The Higgins Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Future attorneys, Katie Briuglio, Katie Fox and Abby Unsworth attended.

The annual event benefits the New Orleans Martinet Legal Foundation, Inc., the 501(c)(3) non profit branch of Martinet, which provides scholarship funds to both undergraduate and law students at local universities and also funds Martinet’s community service efforts that effectuate change and benefit our community-at-large.

During the event, Martinet also honored several leaders in our community for their outstanding contributions, as well as their enduring commitment and civic leadership that advance the mission of the Greater New Orleans Martinet Legal Society. Among the award recipients was The Honorable Ernestine Gray (ret.), who received the Lifetime Achievement Award, and The Honorable Rachael Johnson, who received the Ernest N. Morial Award.

MBLB Martinet Gala sponsorshipWith the donations from this year, the Foundation was able to award six scholarships that went to three undergraduate students and three law students.

About the Greater New Orleans Martinet Society

The objective of the Louis A. Martinet Society is to encourage the interchange of ideas, promote legal scholarship, advance the science of jurisprudence, promote the administration of justice, uphold the order and ethics of the courts and the profession of law, and promote the welfare of the legal profession in Louisiana. The Louis A. Martinet Society was founded in 1957 by—Earl J. Amedee; Israel M. Augustine; Louis Berry; Lionel Collins; Robert F. Collins; Niles R. Douglas; Norman C. Francis; Benjamin J. Johnson; Alvin Jones; Vanue B. LaCour; Ernest N. Morial; Justice Revius Ortique, Jr.; J. T. Powell; James Smith; A. P. Tureaud; Freddie Warren and Lawrence Wheeler. These African-American lawyers, committed themselves, just as Martinet Society members do today, to combating racial injustices and inequalities in and outside of Louisiana’s courtrooms.

The Martinet Society has chapters throughout the state of Louisiana.